CSSv5.0.0 en:Revoke Transfer

Aus Cryptshare Documentation
Wechseln zu:Navigation, Suche



General

After a transfer has been performed, there may be reasons to revoke access to the files of this transfer for all recipients, e.g. because

  • the containing information is outdated and obsoleted by a new transfer.
  • the transfer has been sent to the wrong recipient(s).
  • it is required to revoke access for all recipients due to security or regulatory reasons.

How to revoke a transfer

Button on the summary page after sending a transfer

In order to revoke immediately after sending, users are able to use the button 'Revoke transfer' on the summary page. 58294454.png

Button in the sender notification

In order to revoke a transfer some time after sending, the user has to enable the option 'Send me a notification email about this upload' on the 'transfer options' page. After sending the transfer, the sender receives a sender notification mail, where he is able to use the 'Revoke' button. When using the button in the sender notification mail, it may be necessary for the sender to re-verify themselves in order to prove that they are in fact the original sender. 58294453.png

Effects of revoking a transfer

  • All files of the transfer are deleted from the Cryptshare server
  • None of the recipients can download the data anymore
    • Recipients who try to access the transfer receive the error message The transfer with the ID \* could not be found.'
  • A mail notification is sent to all recipients
  • The sender will receive a revocation confirmation by mail

58294455.png 58294456.png

Preconditions for revoking a transfer

  • A transfer with the given tracking id exists.
  • The given email address is indeed the sender of this transfer.
  • The revocation initiating user is verified with the given email address.
  • The transfer with the corresponding tracking id exists and is available for retrieval. Reasons for unavailability of a transfer may be one of the following reasons:
    • The transfer is already expired.
    • An Administrator has cancelled the transfer in the transfer log via the administration interface.
    • One of the recipients has provided the wrong password too often, leading to the deletion of the transfer for all recipients.
    • The sender has revoked the transfer via Cryptshare for Outlook already. 
    • The sender has revoked the transfer via the sender notification email or the summary page already

Error messages shown

The transfer with the tracking ID \* either does not exist, or the user \* is not authorized to revoke this transfer.

  • No transfer with the given tracking id exists or
  • the given email address is not the sender of this transfer.

The transfer with the tracking ID \* is no longer available. It may have expired or was deleted for another reason.

  • The transfer with the corresponding tracking id does not exist anymore and is therefore not available for retrieval. Reasons for unavailability of a transfer may be one of the following reasons:
    • The transfer is already expired.
    • An Administrator has cancelled the transfer in the transfer log via the administration interface.
    • One of the recipients has provided the wrong password too often, leading to the deletion of the transfer for all recipients.
    • The sender has revoked the transfer via Cryptshare for Outlook already. 
    • The sender has revoked the transfer via the sender notification email or the summary page already