CSSv5.0.0 en:1016659

Aus Cryptshare Documentation
Wechseln zu:Navigation, Suche



Backup

Backup Contents

Select the contents you would like to backup. The backup system allows a rollback to previous Cryptshare versions. It provides the possibility to restore all contents of a backup via the Administration Interface.

System Files

The Cryptshare installation itself.

  • Required for performing a system rollback.
Database

The database which contains transfer meta-data, server settings, transfer logs, etc.

  • Required for performing a system rollback.
  • Required for being able to restore transfers (so active transfers can be retrieved again).
Transfers

The transfer files for transfers which are currently active.

  • Required for being able to restore transfers (so active transfers can be retrieved again).

Naming Convention

Define the pathname of the target directory the files should be backed up to. Define a name snippet which will be complemented by the date and time if you enable the two options to identify the backup file on the target directory.

Please note that if you do not select the options 'date' and 'time', the backup will be overwritten as soon as the next backup is being performed.


As the default backup directory lies within the Cryptshare installation directory, it can be useful to change it to another location as backups can grow very large, especially if transfer backup is enabled.


Please note the article Security Audit.


Backup Task

The backup task is performing backups of the system on a daily basis. It will use the settings that have been made in this section. If you want to change the execution time of the backup task, please refer to Scheduled Tasks.

Instant Backup

You can instantly trigger a backup without permanently changing the settings for the backup task. Simply choose the settings you prefer and click the button 'Perform backup now' without clicking on 'Save changes'. The changes you have made will only apply to the backup triggered manually.

Please note that the backup process is performed asynchronously. Therefore, the button's feedback is no indicator for the successful creation of the backup. In order to determine if or when the backup is finished, check the system log.


Restore

Select the backup you want to restore in order to see the backup contents. If a content cannot be selected, it is not included in this backup.

Possible conflicts for certain backups

In certain situations backup contents may not be compatible with the system or vice versa. This means that in some situations a backup cannot be restored anymore or can only be restored if specific contents are restored with it.

Conflicts are displayed in the form of error messages or warnings. The following list shows the reasons and possible solutions for displaying the messages:

The database contained in the backup is not compatible with Cryptshare Server v4.7.0. It cannot be restored, as this backup is missing corresponding system files.

Reason: The backup contains a database, but no system files. The included database has a different structure than that required for the currently installed Cryptshare server version. Solution:

If you want to restore the database included in the backup, please install the required Cryptshare Server version manually. After installation you can restore the database using the "Backup / Restore" page.


The database contained in the backup is not compatible with Cryptshare Server v4.7.0. It can only be restored together with the corresponding system files.

The system files contained in the backup are not compatible with the current database. They can only be restored together with the corresponding database. Reason: The backup includes a database and system files. The included database has a different structure than that required for the currently installed Cryptshare server version. Solution:

If you want to restore the database or system files in the backup, please select "Restore System Files". The option "Restore Database" is selected automatically.


The system files contained in the backup are not compatible with the current database. They cannot be restored, as this backup is missing a corresponding database.

Reason: The backup contains system files, but no database of the Cryptshare version in the backup. The Cryptshare Server version in the backup requires a database with a different structure than the currently installed database. Solution:

If you want to restore the database included in the backup, please install the required Cryptshare Server version manually. After installation you can restore the system files in the backup using the "Backup / Restore" page.


'Please note that when restoring the system files of this backup you are going back to Cryptshare Version 4.x (previous version).'Reason: The backup contains a different Cryptshare Server version than the currently installed one. After the restore, the Cryptshare Server will be on the older version, which may not have all the features of the version that is currently installed.


Automated Backup Cleanup

The Cryptshare Server provides a cleanup mechanism for old backups. It allows two methods on how the files for the deletion are taken into consideration:

  • Deletion by amount: The last x backup files will be left on the system. All other files will be removed
  • Deletion by age: Files older than x days will be deleted. All other files will be kept.

By default the automated cleanup service is active. Disable the respective checkbox in order to disable auto-cleanup.